top of page

7 Days of HIGH Intensity!!

As some of you know I have been working on my Personal Training Certification. I went to the in classroom portion of the training last weekend. I learned a TON, the teacher was fantastic. It was not just about exercise programs. It covered the fundamentals, anatomy, relationship, and my favorite... balance. GREAT Stuff!!

I want to tell you about a part of it that really spoke to me.

We were discussing when you should take rest days. Some people really push and do 7 days of high intensity and don't get results they want.

The best results come when we do a high day, medium day and rest days all mixed through the week. REST days being Key. They give our muscles and system a chance to repair... Makes great sense.

The instructor went on to talk about adrenal fatigue and its symptoms. This happens when you have too many high intensity days and not enough rest. Usually when our bodies are in a "stressed out state" for too long. Some of those symptoms include, Waking up tired, injury, weight gain, anxiety, exhaustion, depression ..ect......

I was looking at the charts and listening to the symptoms and it occurred to me this really can be applied to life.

Now those of you who know me well know I might just be a tad HIGH intensity- 7 days a week, 8 if I could. I take small increments of time for self care and manage to go do the things I love... once in a while.

If I am working- I am all in.

Time with my kids- All the way,

Running a non profit- full steam ahead.

But lately I have been, waking up tired, fighting anxiety, falling asleep whenever I sit down for more than 5 minutes. (That gets embarrassing) I know I am the one to talk about self care (all the time!) This one got me though. Maybe its time for some changes?

I am going to start applying this to my life. I talk about self care and for me this means living it! I am starting with 1 day a week as a rest day. This should be normal but for me its not.

No workouts, No cooking, no working and maybe even a nap or 2, for 1 day out of 7.

What does your chart look like. 7 days high intensity? Too many rest days? What does balance look like?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page