top of page

Being Kind to Kim - Accepting my Weaknesses!


Mmmmm, peanut butter balls! I am loving the increase in healthy fats in my diet (eggs, avocado, peanut butter, cheese in small amounts), and so I figured, heck!, why not make up a batch of healthy peanut butter balls. I could have one or two a day as a little healthy treat! Right? Right? WRONG!! I made a batch of peanut butter balls from this recipe, they were delicious and I proceeded to eat HALF THE RECIPE in ONE AFTERNOON! Oops!! But the good news, as I told my coach Lucinda, was that I didn't beat myself up about it. I took note of my behaviour and started fresh the next day! So that was good progress! However, I don't want to be eating a half recipe of peanut butter balls every day, no matter how healthy the recipe is! And then I started planning for the day my niece and nephew were going to visit... "Let's decorate sugar cookies", I thought to myself. Great idea! So I baked a batch of cookies and got the icing ready! While they were here, I did well. I only ate one cookie, I enjoyed every bite, and I didn't beat myself up about it. BUT... shortly after they left, I started to feel bored and lonely and KERCHOW!, cookies started flying down my throat! I don't even know how many I ate! 8? 10?!? Yikes! And that's when I recognized the pattern. Kim and baked goods, no matter how healthy (or unhealthy) are not a good mix! Baked goods are like my Achilles heel!! We all have strengths and weaknesses. If you struggled with math in school, would you sign up to take a math class just for fun on the weekends? If you don't enjoy drawing, would you take a drawing class? No fun, right? That's not being kind to yourself! One of my weaknesses is resisting baked goods. So why would I sabotage myself and keep peanut butter balls, cookies, cupcakes, etc. in my house? New plan: no baking allowed in my house! Easy as... pie! ;)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page