top of page

Lessons Learned from carrying the backpack...

My first backpacking trip I was 25lbs down on my weight loss journey. I was working out and eating great and thought I was in great shape. We chose a hike that was harder than anticipated.

I forgot I had asthma. During workouts and everyday life, it offered no problems. Throw on a 25lb pack and high elevation and it became a different story.

There are so many parallels with backpacking and weight loss. The significance of dropping 25lbs and then strapping it onto my back to climb a mountain was not lost on me. 25 extra pounds made my lungs work harder, made every muscle in my body work harder and by day 2 my knees started giving out. IT WAS HARD. It was exhausting..... I walked 12km over a mountain pass and let me tell you, the relief of setting down that backpack was amazing.

Everything felt easier.

Are you carrying some extra weight around? Is is a 10lb pack 15? 30? 80? How is your back? knees? muscles? energy level? All of these things are effected.

How would you feel if you could set that down?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page