top of page

Finding Joy Week 8

This weekend I fed my family of four “healthy” waffles. It has been a Sunday morning tradition to wake up early and put on a nice breakfast that we can all enjoy. I have avoided this tradition for the last few months in fear of the calories, sugar and temptation of over indulging. This week, I faced it head on, adjusted my ingredients and made the greatest “healthy” waffles, even my 1 year old enjoyed. For me, this was a victory. I was still able to enjoy my family tradition as long as I made compromises and made sure to log it into my fitness pal before I enjoyed too many! Here is our Sunday morning treat:

1 ¾ Cup gluten free flour (we prefer Bob's Red Mill Baking Flour)

1 Tbsp baking powder

2 Tbsp coconut sugar or agave nectar

1 ¾ Cup unsweetened almond milk (we like the vanilla)

2 Eggs

1 Tsp vanilla extract

¼ Cup olive oil

Mix dry and wet ingredients separately. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until no big lumps visible. Scoop into a waffle iron and enjoy! (per 2 waffles: 260 cal, 13.2 g fat, 30.5 g carbs, 5.9 g protein).

Try this with natural peanut butter, bananas, yogurt, nuts, maple syrup (if you are still eating sugar ) or with a serving of eggs!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page